La Mecánica Popular – Experimental Latin American Ensemble

La Mecánica Popular is Efraín Rozas’ experimental ensemble, with Felipe Wurst on guitar, Joel Mateo on timbales, Guillermo Barrón on congas and Dan Martínez on bass. It explores the frontier between social dance and experimentalism, and seeks to erode the divisions between the popular and the avant-garde. With this project I wish to contribute to developing of the re-contextualization of Latin American music beyond the cliches of the tropical kitsch, through the development of a experimentalism from the global south. To regain tradition as a form of agency, to promote a poly-centric world as opposed to an art world that needs to comply with Western criteria of “World Music”. 

La Mecánica Popular has been featured at NYC Central Park Summerstage for the 50th Anniversary of Fania Records, Brooklyn Museum, Levitation Festival, Queens Museum, BBC, CNN, and NPR. 


Upcoming shows


La Mecánica Popular at Drom 1/6/18


Reviews of  new LP “Roza Cruz” (Names You Can Trust 2018, NYC)


Named Best Peruvian Album of 2018 by Rock Achorao, Conciertos PerúEl Comercio and top international 5 by Gladys Palmera (Spain) and Zona de Obras (Spain) 


“Radical Afro-Latin futurism”- NPR (full review
“Brings tradition to new creative heights”- Remezcla (full review) 
“10/10.”- Juno Download (full review) 
“Awesome”- AfroPop Worldwide (full review) 
“This is not new Latin music, it’s new music”- Gladys Palmera (full review)




Listen, buy vinyl or download the new LP “Roza Cruz” here: 




Excerpt of recording session for “Roza Cruz” album 
Video directed by Peruvian artist Muriel Holguín, from the self-titled first LP
Interview for Remezcla on new technologies and Latin American Music


Listen or Download the First self titled LP here (Vinyl sold out):